The Kathleen Ethel Welch Outstanding Article Award


The Kathleen Ethel Welch Outstanding Article Award is presented biennially in odd-numbered years for work in the field of composition and rhetoric to recognize outstanding scholarship and research in the areas of feminist pedagogy, practice, history, and theory. The award carries a $100.00 honorarium and will be presented biannually at the Wednesday evening meeting of the Coalition at the Conference on College Composition and Communication.

Award Recipients

2015—Amanda Moulder for “By Women You Were Brought Forth into this World: Cherokee Women’s Oratorical Education in the late Eighteenth Century” published in Rhetoric, History, and Women’s Oratorical Education: American Women Learn to Speak edited by David Gold and Catherine L. Hobbs (New York: Routledge, 2013).  Honorable mention—Melanie Yergeau for “Clinically Significant Disturbance: On Theorists Who Theorize Theory of Mind” published in Disability Studies Quarterly (2013).

2013—Jessica Enoch and Jordynn Jack for “Remembering Sappho: New Perspectives on Teaching (and Writing) Women’s Rhetorical History” published in College English (May 2011).

2011—Tarez Samra Graban and Kathleen J. Ryan for “Theorizing Feminist Pragmatic Rhetoric as a Communicative Art for the Composition Practicum” published in College Composition and Communication (61.1, Sep 2009).


An eligible work must have been published in the two years previous to the year of the award. (For example, a work eligible for the 2017 award will have been published in calendar year 2015 or 2016.) Single or multiple authored articles are eligible. We welcome nominations from authors, editors, publishers, or readers. To be eligible for the award, a nominee must be a member of the Coalition at the time of nomination.

Review Criteria

  • Is the work relevant to and may it be situated within the broadly defined fields of feminist research in Composition and Rhetoric?
  • Does the work demonstrate a fair and balanced research agenda in the form of feminist inquiry: archival, historical, classroom-based, community based, empirical, or theoretical work?
  • Is the need for this research within the field clear and compelling?
  • Is this research problem couched within existing scholarship of the field?
  • Does the scholarship provide a framework by which the field may be advanced by other researchers?
  • Does the work make a substantial contribution to the field?

Nominations and Contact

Nominations must be received by January 1, 2017 and must include three (3) copies of the article (pdfs or photocopies of the printed article) and a brief (500 words) nominating statement. Electronic submissions are accepted.

Jenn Fishman
Immediate Past President, CFSHRC
English, Marquette Hall 115
1217 W. Wisconsin Ave
Milwaukee, WI 53233

Contact Jenn Fishman ( for additional information.