Lisa Ede Mentoring Award


The CFSHRC Lisa Ede Mentoring Award is presented biennially to an individual or group with a career-record of mentorship, including formal and informal advising of students and colleagues; leadership in campus, professional, and/or local communities; and other activities that align with the overall mission and goals of the Coalition. The award carries an honorarium of $200.00 per person or $500.00 for a group of three or more people and will be announced every other year at the at the Feminisms and Rhetorics Conference.

Award Recipients

2015 — Cheryl Glenn


This award is open to all colleagues in rhetoric and composition or related fields with a minimum of 10 years’ post-graduate professional experience, including current and retired faculty, staff, and administrators; independent scholars; and other academic professionals.

Review Criteria

Nominations should include a minimum of three letters from individuals or co-writers with direct knowledge of the nominee(s). Overall, letters should be descriptive, offering concrete examples of the nominee’s or nominees’ mentoring activities and their impact. Letters should also illuminate the nominee’s or nominees’ contribution to rhetoric and composition (and related fields), feminist academic work (including teaching, research and scholarship, service, and civic engagement), and the CFSHRC and its members (as applicable).

Recipients of this award will have a career record of feminist mentorship in both formal and informal educational settings, including (but not limited to) academic departments and programs, writing and community centers, and professional and community organizations. Recipients of this award will not only embody the spirit of the Coalition’s commitment to the care and collaboration involved in mentoring; they will also enrich and even expand that definition through their examples.


Nomination Contact and Procedures

The deadline for submissions is May 15, 2017. The recipient will be invited to receive the award at the Feminisms and Rhetorics Conference held at the University of Dayton over the weekend of October 4-7, 2017. Nomination letters should be sent together (as separate attachments in a single email) to:

Jenn Fishman
Immediate Past President, CFSHRC
English, Marquette Hall 115
1217 W. Wisconsin Ave
Milwaukee, WI 53233

Contact Jenn Fishman ( for additional information.